Take Me to Church

Note: Title taken from the Hozier song of the same name, which I never realized suited one of my couples so perfectly–until right now.

I have sinned.

Thou shalt not steal.

You don’t have to be familiar with the church to know that sin is the burden of man. Parables about stones, and weakness, and the like.

What matters is what comes after. We seek forgiveness. We try to sin no more.

We fail, but we keep trying.

Thou shalt not bear false witness.

I don’t know if it was ever really my calling, or just an escape, to recover from tragedy. I was so young…almost as young as you.

Honor thy father and thy mother.

Was I happy? Only you would think to ask me that, days after you’d come for revenge. I never asked myself that.

I didn’t have an answer.

Thou shalt not kill.

The fate that brought us together was cruel, but made a twisted kind of sense. His blood on my hands, your face from my past.  Reincarnation through space instead of time.

Thou shalt have no other gods before me.

I chose you, of course, in the end. How could I do anything else?

Of all the sins I’ve committed, the least of them was love.


Like my style? Show your support with a small donation, or help feed my human and cat family!

Comment on this

